Bhagavad Gita

  1. Describe ways in which you feel like Arjuna. I feel like Arjuna because I don’t want to do something I know I should. I don’t want to go to practice because I am being lazy, even though it will be better for me in the end. Then after I go, I feel a lot better because I did.
  2. How could you specifically apply the message of theBhagavad Gita? I could apply “doing one’s duty” to everyday life. For example homework. I do not like to do it but it is my duty to become a better student.
  3. How would the ancient Indian perspective of the Bhagavad Gita be VERY different than the 21st Century American perspective of doing one’s duty? Doing one’s duty in ancient India could be used in terms of war and to justify killing. Today it is more viewed as being a decent person and doing what you’re supposed to.
  4. Now, venture back to ancient India. Think of a way the Bhagavad Gita could be used as a tool of oppression? The leaders could convince people that it was “their duty” to do certain tasks, like murder, when it is just for the oppressor. They could use the Bhagavad Gita as a reasoning behind their decisions. 

1 thought on “Bhagavad Gita

  1. Now, venture back to ancient India. Think of a way the Bhagavad Gita could be used as a tool of oppression? The leaders could convince people that it was “their duty” to do certain tasks, like murder, when it is just for the oppressor. They could use the Bhagavad Gita as a reasoning behind their decisions.

    HECK YES!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *